Adding some Retro Geek-Men Magnets to my Etsy Shop

The Above new additions to my line of humorous magnets are available here:SmirkingGoddess

Over eleven years ago I serendipitously came up with a new vocation for my husband Mike. He’s an electrical engineer-grad of Penn State. When we met, he’d been in the corporate world for almost twenty years. A long time to endure constant lay-offs due to the new American corporate economy of moving jobs overseas, hiring cheaper new grads–or in some cases just young what-evers–with no experience to muck up a job only to have to do it again, and Outsourcing. Please note, CEO’s never get outsourced.

After Europe moved in and bought up the last company he worked for I suggested he try his hand at building up his own business. He’d been successful at selling off sports collectibles and his coin collection on eBay, so says I: “Why not sell something you’re passionate about on eBay? Something old you can buy and fix up like, like I know! old radios!” I listen to NPR while painting and old radios just popped in my head.

Well as the saying goes, the rest is history. He started his business of selling, repairing and restoring not only old radios, but vintage car radios, vintage hi-fi and other sound equipment in our small railroad flat. Today he’s a global seller and I’m proud to say a “preservationist”. Mike’s need to keep the past alive through his work has also made him environmentally conscious as well. We’ve rescued many an old tube, radio shell, or stereo sitting forlornly on a curb waiting for pick up, thus saving it from landfill or more specifically-Mother Earth.

The above magnets and pinbacks I designed are terrific gifts for that Dad, or Grandpa in your life who is passionate about all gadgets that deliver a smooth, golden tone, built by American hands and some lovingly restored by my husband-expert: urban-antiqueradio.com

Please note, the second button is a Ham Radio and yes I believe it was besides the phone, our first social network.

About suzanneurban

ABOUT MOI: I was born in San Francisco, California to highly intelligent parents, and my sister is pretty darn smart too. It's unclear if I inherited the smart genes. I graduated with a B.A. in Art from Marymount College Over a couple of decades, I illustrated and designed for newspapers, greeting card companies, in corporate graphic departments and publishing empires. I reside with my antique dealer husband and two house rabbits in a the third oldest home in Connecticut–(honest!-no ghosts-bummer). My husband will be joining ETSY with his own shop called: "VintageUrban" soon. ARTIST STATEMENT: I seek to amuse. When I come up with something more profound I'll put it in here. KUDOS: Over the years my work in various forms has been published in: NYTimes, DollWorld, Contemporary Doll Collector, Doll Castle News, SCBWI magazine, Color! magazine, Jane Green's Down to Earth Blog, Doll World, Scholastics, Westport Magazine, Mail Me Art, and more. In 2007 I was invited to do something for the State Capitol's Holiday Tree by Governor Rell. I chose to needle felt a bear ornament rather than hang from the tree myself. I named him "Nutmeg" as Connecticut is the "Nutmeg" state. ASSOCIATIONS: I'm the founder of ODACT-www.odact.org or Original Doll Artisans of Connecticut-we're on Facebook. I'm also a member of SCBWI-Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. Licensing- my designs are finding favor with licensing clients my work will soon be seen on needlepoint canvases and gourmet ice cream labels. That's about it. Amusingly yours, Suzanne Search Engine Submission - AddMe
This entry was posted in Urban Showcase. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

