Look What I Messed up-Shrinky Dink Experiment gone Awry-the Finale

<a href="Photobucket“>

An Imperfect Medium or Imperfect Artist?

Due to my initial shrinks failing to end up perfect-one angel ended up having one fat leg and one skinnier leg-she looked like she had elephantitus-(see two bottom angels in photo)-I decided to give this Shrinky Dink medium one last go, I forced myself to re-read directions written so a five year old could understand them. This time I painted the angel and snail on the sanded side but inked as suggested on the slick side of the plastic. Only problem as you can see by the photo–is despite letting the waterproof ink dry, it still smeared the day after.

Husband ordered the dedicated oven be put in the barn for me to cook the dinks as one did smell the vapors in the house. He thought it was because the oven is new. So I gingerly carried the large pieces-angel was ten inches in length out to the barn and cooked each one separately.

The pig was the first, I’d him painted him on the roughened side and cooked at 300 degrees, and wouldn’t you know the paint bubbled. But he shrunk flat and uniform. “Well!” husband-expert exclaimed-“You’re shocking them with too high a temp! That’s why the paint bubbled.” So The snail I cooked at 200 degrees, he kept curling up into a tube, and eventually due to my opening oven door to straighten him out with a knitting needle-he never shrunk to a uniform size. Last was smeary angel and she curled up too much too. The end result this medium failed to produce a fun, whimsical brooch for me to sell or wear.

So there you have it. Shrinky Dink is a medium that kids can do but is too challenging for this artist. I think it would be a perfect medium for that exploratory artist who loves the process of creating something with a serendipitous end. I do have a trick up my sleeve for making pins that LOOK like Shrink Dinks and will share the formula in the future,stay tuned.. But if you have that knack like some etsy artists-just type in Shrinky Dink in ETSY’s search field- that knack I don’t have-you might want to explore this medium- just keep in mind the following:

Shrinky Experimenter’s By-Laws:
• Images will shrink 50% so don’t draw too much detail or lines close together
• Bake on a flat sheet
• Don’t underbake as your designs will end up like my snail
• Don’t leave oven unattended
• Bake in a ventilated place
• Save money and the environment, use #6 plastic food containers-check youtube for videos on this

Meanwhile purple oven and plastic are off to find a new home at our local high school.

<a href="Photobucket“>

About suzanneurban

ABOUT MOI: I was born in San Francisco, California to highly intelligent parents, and my sister is pretty darn smart too. It's unclear if I inherited the smart genes. I graduated with a B.A. in Art from Marymount College Over a couple of decades, I illustrated and designed for newspapers, greeting card companies, in corporate graphic departments and publishing empires. I reside with my antique dealer husband and two house rabbits in a the third oldest home in Connecticut–(honest!-no ghosts-bummer). My husband will be joining ETSY with his own shop called: "VintageUrban" soon. ARTIST STATEMENT: I seek to amuse. When I come up with something more profound I'll put it in here. KUDOS: Over the years my work in various forms has been published in: NYTimes, DollWorld, Contemporary Doll Collector, Doll Castle News, SCBWI magazine, Color! magazine, Jane Green's Down to Earth Blog, Doll World, Scholastics, Westport Magazine, Mail Me Art, and more. In 2007 I was invited to do something for the State Capitol's Holiday Tree by Governor Rell. I chose to needle felt a bear ornament rather than hang from the tree myself. I named him "Nutmeg" as Connecticut is the "Nutmeg" state. ASSOCIATIONS: I'm the founder of ODACT-www.odact.org or Original Doll Artisans of Connecticut-we're on Facebook. I'm also a member of SCBWI-Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. Licensing- my designs are finding favor with licensing clients my work will soon be seen on needlepoint canvases and gourmet ice cream labels. That's about it. Amusingly yours, Suzanne Search Engine Submission - AddMe
This entry was posted in Urban Tutorials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

